Scottish Short Film Award

The Scottish Short Film Award honours inspiration and innovation in new Scottish cinema, and carries a cash prize. Four programmes of work produced by Scotland-based filmmakers compete for the Scottish Short Film Award, sponsored by Blazing Griffin and the Scottish Audience Award, sponsored by Savalas.

This year’s jury consists of Jason Anderson, international short film programmer at Toronto International Film Festival and programme director at Aspen Shortsfest; Niels Putman, artistic director of and co-founder/chief editor of Talking Shorts; and Glasgow-based screenwriter/director Raisah Ahmed.

The 2024 Scottish Competition selection can be found here.

The GSFF23 Scottish Short Film Award was awarded to Clean by Miranda Stern. A special mention went to The Möbius Trip by Simone Smith. 

The GSFF23 Scottish Audience Award went to Floored by Fin Bain.