About » History » 2020


Things were different for everyone in 2020. When the WHO declared COVID-19 a global pandemic on 11 March, we made the difficult decision to postpone the thirteenth iteration of GSFF. It soon became clear that an in-person event would still not be possible by the proposed new dates in August. After testing out our new online hub with DIVE IN Cinema, we presented a revised online programme, our 12th and half edition. 

Whilst traditions are made to be broken, some things never change and we brought our usual mixture of shambolic charm and top tier short filmmaking to the digital sphere. Highlights included a retrospective of Thai filmmaker Sorayos Prapapan, and in collaboration with Matchbox Cineclub, the early works of Japanese master Nobuhiko Ôbayashi. Thematic programmes included Black Spatial Imaginaries, curated for us by Natasha Ruwona, and Urban PalimpsestsAt a time when space became confined for all, GSFF’s programme explored the politics of place, asking the question in a myriad of ways; who can occupy what and why?

The shift to online exhibition, whilst keeping us apart physically, allowed filmmakers, curators and talented people of all sorts to join together in several live panels, Q&As and talks. In partnership with Short Waves in Poland, we delivered two industry discussions and a spotlight on animator Tomasz PopakulThe two strands of competition, the Bill Douglas Award for Short Film and the Scottish Short Film Award were amongst the strongest we have presented, and our opening ceremony… well, let’s just say that director Kieron Howe is our hero. Give it a watch below.

Description of imagePlay video

Description of imagePlay video

Award Winners

Bill Douglas Award for International Short Film
3 Logical Exits – Mahdi Fleifel / Denmark, United Kingdom, Lebanon / 2020

Scottish Short Film Award
Betty – Will Anderson / United Kingdom / 2021

International Audience Award
Daughter – 
Daria Kashcheeva / Czech Republic / 2020

Scottish Short Film Award 
Boys Night – James Price / United Kingdom / 2020

International Jury
Delphine Jeanneret – Programmer, Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur
Sorayos Prapapan – Filmmaker
Laura Rantanen – Filmmaker (Bill Douglas Award for International Short Film Winner 2019, Liminality & Communitas) 

Scottish Jury
Nicolas Feodoroff – Programmer, FIDMarseille
Vincent Langouche – Programme Director and Co-ordinator, Leuven International Short Film Festival
Sadhbh Murphy – Sales and Acquisitions Executive, Network Ireland Television (NITV)

Please note the catalogue represents the planned March 2020 edition, not the online August edition.

Download: Gsff20 Catalogue PDF (8.8 MB)