About » History » 2016


The cover of the brochure for 2016’s GSFF proclaimed ‘ALL BORING FILMS NEVER BE MADE AGAIN’, taken from Nick Zedd’s Cinema of Transgression manifesto (1985). Zedd’s work featured heavily in an explosive night at The Glue Factory, culminating in a live set by the scene’s muse Lydia Lunch. German filmmaker Jan Soldat came to Glasgow, bringing with him his raw explorations of transgressive sexual practices. The programme director of Uppsala International Short Film Festival Christoffer Olofsson collated for us The Sum of All Fears – a collection of abridged horror classics on 16mm – and following 2015’s look at Ukraine, we delved into another troubled nation with a programme of films focused on war-torn Syria.

In addition to this, for the very first time one film scooped up the two prizes it was eligible for. Anwar Boulifa’s powerful A Short Guide to Re-Entry deservedly collected both the Bill Douglas Award and the International Audience Award.

A Short Guide to Re-entry by Anwar Boulifa, winner of last year’s International Jury and Audience award. I had this picked out as one to watch for a prize winner, because of how effectively it tells its story with minimal dialogue or action. The director’s background in documentary results in a unique look for a short fiction, and a hard-hitting look at race, class and the prison system in the UK. It’s really stuck with me because of how important that wee glimpse into one man’s experience is as a story to tell, and to see it recognised with both International awards was fantastic. Handing the award to Anwar was definitely one of the highlights of GSFF16 for me!
Clo Meehan, GSFF Assistant 2016, now Events Manager, Free Pride Glasgow.

Award Winners

Bill Douglas Award for International Short Film
A Short Guide to Re-entry – Anwar Boulifa / United Kingdom / 2015

GSFF Scottish Short Film Award
Isabella – Duncan Cowles & Ross Hogg / United Kingdom / 2015

International Audience Award 
A Short Guide to Re-entry – Anwar Boulifa / United Kingdom / 2015

Scottish Audience Award
Dear Peter – Scott Willis / United Kingdom / 2016

International Competition Jury
Ohna Falby – Producer, Live to Life Films
Morgan Knibbie – Filmmaker (Bill Douglas Award for International Film Winner 2015, Shipwreck)
Jason Ryle – Executive Director, ImagiNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival 

Scottish Competition Jury
Rosie Crerar – Screen Officer, Creative Scotland (Co-Founding Director of Glasgow Short Film Festival)
Jason Ryle – Executive Director, ImagiNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival 
Stine Wangler – Sales Agent, KurzFilmAgentur Hamburg